

# City of Santa Clara, Texas Special City Council Meeting Minutes

## August 19, 2024

The City Council called Special Meeting on August 19, 2024, at 6:34 PM. At City Hall 1653 N Santa Clara Rd and video conference through city's homepage City of Santa Clara with Mayor Jef Hunt

#### A. PLEDGE

## **B. CALL MEETING TO ORDER**

1. **Roll Call:** Marian Carty, Dwane Atkins, John Reagan, Danny Trammell, and Ernest Schoenefeldt

**P&Z Members present:** Thomas Perkins

2. **Declaration of Quorum:** Quorum was present for August 19, 2024, Special City Council Meeting.

C. PUBLIC COMMENT: None

D. PUBLIC HEARING: None

E. DISCUSSION ONLY: None

#### F. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ITEMS

Items listed under this heading are for discussion and possible action.

## 1. Adopt Budget for FY 2024-2025

- Record Vote
- Vote to Ratify the Property Tax Increase Reflected in the Budget

Councilmember John Reagan made to motion to ratify the property tax increase reflected in the budget that will raise more revenue from property taxes than last year's budget by an amount of \$12,799, which is a 10:45% percent increase from last year's budget. Councilmember Dwane Atkins seconded the motion. Motion carried with a vote: Marian Carty Aye, Ernest Schoenefeldt Nay, Danny Trammell Nay, Dwane Atkins Aye and John Reagan Aye (3 aye and 2 nay).

# 2. Adopt Tax Rate - Record Vote

Councilman John Reagan made the motion to move the property tax rate be decreased by the adoption of a tax rate of .1614. Councilmember Dwane Atkins seconded the motion. Motion carried with a vote: Marian Carty Aye, Ernest Schoenefeldt Aye, Danny Trammell Aye, Dwane Atkins Aye and John Reagan Aye (5 aye and 0 nay)

## **G. ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

- Hand out TML Cyber Insurance on next City Council agenda 8-26-2024
- Hog Wild in Schertz
- TML Region 7 in Schertz August 30, 2024

H. EXECUTIVE SESSION: None

## I. ATTENDANCE BY OTHER ELECTED OR APPOINTED OFFICIALS: None

## J. ADJOURNMENT

Councilmember Marian Carty made the motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:39 PM. Councilmember Dwane Atkins seconded the motion and passed unanimously.

Mayor: Jeff Hunt City Secretary: Donna White

