

Santa Clara, Texas Regular City Council Meeting Minutes

The City Council called regular meeting on September 26, 2022, at 6:34 PM. At City Hall 1653 N Santa Clara Road and video conference through city's homepage City of Santa Clara with Mayor Jeff Hunt.

A. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

- 1. **Roll Call:** Marian Carty, Jim Folbre Lynette Sierer-Absent, Danny Trammell and Ernest Schoenefeldt
- 2. **Declaration of Quorum:** Quorum was present for 09-26-2022, City Council Meeting. **P & Z:** Lloyd Fairley-Chair person, David Cale, Carol Folbre & Thomas Perkins

B. PLEDGE

C. PUBLIC COMMENT:

- Carrie Itschner (Youngsford Rd) Concern and very upset with dove hunters on the property behind her regarding shooting in evening and the over shoot bullets
- Emma Gaspard (Santa Clara Loop) concern regarding tax rate on her property and roads condition.
- Steve Beisser (Cody Lane) Concern regarding tax rate 2022-2023 and concerned on proposed budget for FY 2022-2023.
- Glenn Frederick (Santa Clara Loop) Concern regarding no work has been done on Santa Clara Loop.

D. PUBLIC HEARING

Public Hearing – Budget Hearing for FY 2022 - 2023: Public Hearing open at 6:40 pm.
no public comment – closed at 6:47 pm.

E. CONSENT AGENDA

1. August 22, 2022 – City Council Regular Meeting Minutes

Council member Marian Carty made the motion to approve City Council Regular Meeting Minutes for August 22, 2022. Council member Danny Trammell seconded the motion. Motion carried.

F. CITY STAFF REPORTS

Staff reports include briefings on pending matters from City officials or City staff. Reports may be made verbally in or in writing to be included in the agenda packet.

- 1. Financial Report City Secretary
- 2. Planning and Zoning Commission Report P&Z Chair By Lloyd Fairley
- 3. City Marshall Report by Jerry Airola and Officer Schorn

G. DISCUSSION ONLY

1. Santa Clara Loop/Wetz Road current road condition:

Discussion to make things move to get this project on the move and finalize asap. Citizen concern regarding dust and the road condition that the prior contractor left the roads.

H. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ITEMS

Items listed under this heading are for discussion and possible action.

1. FY 2022 – 2023 Budget

• Record Vote on Budget Ordinance (2022-003):

Council member Jim Folbre made the motion to approve the proposed budget as presented. Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried with the vote: Marian Carty Aye, Ernest Schoenefeldt-Aye, Danny Trammell- Aye, Jim Folbre- Aye & Lynette Sierer-Absent

• Ratification of Property Tax Increase

Council Member Jim Folbre moved to ratify the property tax increase reflected in the budget that will raise more revenue from property taxes than last year's budget by an amount \$46,107, which is 61.92% percent increase from last year's budget. Council Member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried.

2. 2022 Tax Rate

Record Vote on Tax Rate Ordinance (2022-004)

Council Member Jim Folbre made the motion Council Member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried

3. Persimmon Trail

• Development Agreement:

Council member Marian Carty made the motion to accept the Persimmon Trail Development Agreement with mention updates. Council member Jim Folbre seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Preliminary Plat:

Council member Marian Carty made the motion to approve the Persimmon Trail Preliminary Plat. Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried.

4. Driveway and Culvert Ordinance (2022-005) – second reading:

Council member Danny Trammell made the motion to accept the Driveway and Culvert Ordinance #2022-005 as written. Council member Jim Folbre seconded the motion. Motion carried.

5. Dennis Lee Tract ROW Easement Agreement:

Council member Marian Carty made the motion to approve the ROW Easement Agreement regarding Dennis Lee Tract. Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried.

6. Petition to Annex City Owned Parcel

Located at 1635 N. Santa Clara Rd., purchased in July 2018, and directly adjacent to the City Hall tract. Described as all of the 4.736 acres of land, more or less, out of the Josefa Leal Survey No. 91 Abstract 211, in Guadalupe County, Texas

Council member Marian Carty made the motion approve the Petition to Annex City Owned Parcel – located at 1653 N Santa Clara Rd. Council member Jim Folbre seconded the motion. Motion carried

7. Acquisition of Property:

Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt made the motion for the Mayor to get CMA-appraisal for the 2.9 acres behind the City Hall. Council member Danny Trammell seconded the motion. Motion carried.

8. Marshal's Office - Patrol Car Lease:

Council member Marian Carty made the motion for the Mayor to negotiate with Texas Regional Pubic Safety and sign a Master Lease agreement. Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried.

9. Agreement with Guadalupe County for Road Repair

- a. Hard Luck Rd (\$34,000)
- **b.** Marion Rd (\$134,000)
- c. ROW Acquisition n/a

Council member Marian Carty made the motion for the Mayor to sign Inter-local Governmental Agreement Between the County of Guadalupe, Texas and City of Santa Clara, Texas regarding Hard Luck Rd and Marion Rd. Council member Danny Trammell seconded the motion. Motion carried.

10. City Hall Car port funding: No action taken out this time.

11. Master Thoroughfare Plan – (Map 9-6-2022):

Council member Marion Carty made the motion to adopt the Master Thoroughfare Plan and have the City Engineer classified the City of Santa Clara streets. Council member Jim Folbre seconded the motion. Motion carried.

12. Task Order #4 5-Year Street and Drainage CIP:

Council member Marian Carty approved Task Order #4 5-year and drainage CIP from City Engineer. Council Member Ernest Schoenefeldt second the motion. Motion carried

I. ANNOUNCEMENTS: None

J. EXECUTIVE SESSION: None

K. ATTENDANCE BY OTHER ELECTED OR APPOINTED OFFICIALS: None

L. ADJOURNMENT

Council member Marian Carty made the motion to adjourn the meeting at 9:10 PM. Council member Jim Folbre seconded the motion and passed unanimously.

Mayor: Jeff Hunt



City Secretary: Donna White