SC 1999

City of Santa Clara Regular City Council Meeting

A. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The City Council called regular meeting on August 23, 2021, at 6:37 PM. At City Hall 1653 N Santa Clara Road and video conference through city's homepage city of Santa Clara with Mayor Jeff Hunt.

- 1. Roll Call: Marian Carty, Jim Folbre, Lynette Sierer, Danny Trammell and Ernest Schoenefeldt
- P & Z Members present: Chairperson Lloyd Fairley and Thomas Perkins
- 2. Declaration of Quorum: Yes

B. PLEDGE

C. PUBLIC COMMENT

- Elizabeth Chambers concern Wetz Road speed limit change from 30 mph to 35 mph
- Lloyd Fairley wanted to share that this Thursday a meeting at Green Valley regarding pipe pine
- Buck Benson regarding topic #4 on agenda

D. PUBLIC HEARING

1. Public Hearing – Budget Hearing for FY 2022: Public Hearing open at 6:14 pm. Hearing open at 6:41 pm – no public comment – closed at 6:41 pm.

E. CONSENT AGENDA

1. July 26, 2021 – Regular City Council Meeting Minutes

Council member Jim Folbre made the motion to approve City Council Regular Meeting Minutes for July 26, 2021. Council member Danny Trammell seconded the motion. Motion carried

F. CITY STAFF REPORTS

Staff reports include briefings on pending matters from City officials or City staff.

- 1. Financial Report by City Secretary
- 2. Planning and Zoning Commission Report by Chairperson Lloyd Fairley
- 3. City Marshall Report by Chief Marshal Jerry Airola
- 4. Municipal Court Report by City Secretary

F. DISCUSSION ONLY ITEMS

1. Contract with a road company as city road department: Discussion on an RFP for duties of the city's road department.

H. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ITEMS

Items listed under this heading are for discussion and possible action.

1. FY 2021-2022 Budget

-Adjustment:

No adjustment made on final FY 2021-2022 Budget.

- Vote to adopt the FY 2021-2022 budget:

Council member Marian Carty made the motion "I move to adopt the FY 2021-2022 Budget". Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried with a Vote of 5 yes 0 no

- Vote to ratify the property tax rate increase reflected in the budget:

Council member Marian Carty made the motion "I move to ratify the property tax increase reflected in the FY 2021-2022 budget and that this budget will raise more revenue from property taxes than last year's budget by an amount (\$5,510), which is a 5.96 percent increase from last year's budget. The property tax revenue to be raised from new property added to the tax roll this year is (\$3,893). Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion was carried with a Vote of 5 yes 0 no

2. Ordinance Setting Tax Rate -2021-010

- Adopting a proposed tax rate for tax year 2021. The proposed tax rate is 0.1643 per \$100 of value. The proposed tax rate would increase total taxes in City of Santa Clara by 5.9%. **2020 Tax Rate was \$0.1643**.

Council member Marian Carty made the motion "I move that the property tax rate be increased by the adoption of a tax rate of (\$0.1643) per \$100 valuation, which is effectively a (5.9) percent increase in the tax rate

3. Election Order

- approval of an order to call an election for Nov. 2, 2021 to approve or deny the tax rate set by Council should an appropriate petition be timely received by the City, and authorization of Mayor to cancel said election if an appropriate petition to hold said election is not timely received by the City.

Council member Jim Folbre made a motion to authorize the Mayor to cancel said election if an appropriate petition to hold said election is not timely received by the City. Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried with a Vote of 5 yes 0 no

4. Development Agreement Application:

Council member Marian Carty made a motion to reject Mosaic Development Agreement application and authorize the City Attorney to handle the negotiation. Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried with a Vote of 5 yes 0 no

5. Development Advisory Committee

- -Appointment of two City Council members: Council member Danny Trammell made the motion to approve Ernest Schoenefeldt and Lynette Sierer request to join the Development Advisory Committee. Council member Marian Carty seconded the motion. Motion Carried.
- -Appointment of four Citizens: At this time the following Santa Clara citizens will join the Development Advisory Committee, Don Johnson and Steve Besser.

6. Mayor appointment of Planning and Zoning new member:

Mayor appointed Shane Lipke to the Planning and Zoning Committee to fill Jeremy Newman vacant spot.

7. 2020-2021 Calpine Youth Fundraising

- Allocation of funds:

Council member Marian Carty made the motion to allocate the Calpine Youth Fundraising for FY 2020-2021 funds to:

- Young Marines \$500.00
- Marion Band Booster \$500.00
- Santa Clara 4-H Club \$600.00
- Marion Education Foundation \$400.00
- Community in School (CIS) \$3,000.00

Council member Danny Trammell seconded the motion. Motion carried

8. **Nuisance Ordinance(s):** Copy of the rough draft for City Council members to review and give any suggest to City Attorney before next City Council meeting on 09-27-2021. A draft copy of the CSC Nuisance Section and CSC Nuisance Ordinance Definitions will be posted on City's website.

9. Road Projects

- a. Wetz Road and Santa Clara Loop
 - **Status update:** No work has been done on Santa Clara Loop or Wetz Road since last commination with the Bond Company at the beginning of August 2021.
 - Vote to authorize Mayor to terminate contract: Council member Marian Carty made the motion to authorize Mayor to terminate the contact with LC Paving & Construction, LLC on the Santa Clara Loop and Wetz Road project on September 1, 2021. Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion. Motion carried.

- **I. ANNOUNCEMENTS:** CPR Class training at City Hall on 09-22-2021
- J. EXECUTIVE SESSION- No Executive session
- K. ATTENDANCE BY OTHER ELECTED OR APPOINTED OFFICIALS: None
- L. ADJOURNMENT

Council member Marian Carty made the motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:37 PM. Council member Ernest Schoenefeldt seconded the motion and passed unanimously.

Mayor: Jeff Hunt City Secretary: Donna White

